Inherent Vice

IMDB Rating: 7.2
Released – 2014
Director – Paul Thomas Anderson
Length – 2hr 28m
Top Cast – Joaquin Phoenix, Josh Brolin, Katherine Waterston

My final weekday outing of this birthday week promised a fair bit but alas it didn’t deliver much.

I’m not sure I’d say I hated it, since I was grinning and laughing quietly at a few scenes, I just struggled to get into it and care about what was happening.  I’ve since read in reviews a lot of comments about it being a ‘psychadelic’ journey that’s not meant to be easy to follow which makes me feel a little bit better.  I just went into it expecting a film I’d enjoy entirely, I’m fairly sure I loved The Big Lebowski on a first viewing and although it’s a lazy comparison the trailer reminded me a lot of it, but it just wasn’t engaging enough and felt as long as it is.

I’ll give it another try once it’s out on DVD to see if it’s a bit more enjoyable on a second watch.

I know you…
No one in particular although I did think I spotted Dr Beardface from Scrubs in a background scene which made me laugh.  I guess the only other minor character I knew I’d seen in the trailer anyway, Omar from The Wire, and he was only the film for one scene.

Highlight
There’s a great visual in the first hour of the film, I think, of the last supper that made me grin.  You get to see it again soon after as a picture on Bigfoot’s desk.

Honourary mention also goes to Joaquin’s facial expressions and changing hair.  Josh Brolin was also amusing in his treatment of Phoenix too.

6/10 


Comments are disabled.