#5 – Birdman

IMDB Rating: 8.7
Released – 2014
Director – Alejandro González Iñárritu
Length – 1hr 59m
Top Cast – Michael Keaton, Zach Galifianakis and Edward Norton

Unlike my other cinematic outing  of the day, I had a nice 40 minute gap between Enemy ending and Birdman beginning, I knew a fair bit about Birdman and I’d been awaiting it’s release since my first viewing of the trailer in November I think.

When a trailer makes you desperate to see the film and even the poster leaves you in awe you’re onto a good thing and Birdman more than delivered on it’s expectations for me.   There were plenty of great laughs while telling an interesting story as the play lurched from one disaster to the next before it had reached it’s opening night on broadway.

Perhaps the most impressive thing for me, and this isn’t something I’d usually notice, let alone find myself hunting for articles about on my commute home, but it was shot beautifully as well with the film appearing as if it was a documentary.   There were some incredible transitional shots where a character would walk through a door and travel into the future, poorly worded explanation, or the camera would pan upwards to a night skyline that would then slowly change to daytime before resuming.   Lovely.

The cast was great, something I was already aware of from the trailer, and I could easily see a flurry of Oscar nominations.   Emma Stone, to give a lesser character some praise, was great as the troublesome daughter of Riggan (Birdman) and it was good seeing Edward Norton in a prominent role as well.

I could happily go and see this again tomorrow but I’m going to do my best to avoid that 🙂

Highlight
The whole film, ha.

8/10


Comments are disabled.